top of page

Golden Girls

Being stuck at home has really got me reminiscing about the days when I could travel and explore. Last summer, I went to San Francisco in August with my friends Saakshi and Rachita. I should start this off by saying that I had hyped SF so much before going. Everyone I talked to only told me good things about the city and how it was unlike any other place they’d ever visited. Going in, my expectations were in the clouds and sadly, I have to say that I was very much let down. This isn’t to say that I hated the city and didn’t have a good time - I did enjoy it but it just wasn’t what I expected. Here were some things that I really enjoyed and ones that I’d recommend just skipping:


Worth It!

  1. Golden Gate Bridge: this is obviously an iconic landmark and it’s definitely worth visiting. The view is stunning and crossing the bridge is an incredible experience. It literally feels like you’re in the clouds. You have to go to the Golden Gate if you’re in SF.

  2. Sausalito: This is literally such a cute little city. You really do feel like you’re in Italy when you go. We didn’t spend too much time in Sausalito because we had to hop on our bus back to SF, but I’d definitely recommend visiting. It’s really classy and boujee and worth the trip! The gelato is also super yummy!

  3. Berkley: Maybe we just loved Berkley because we finally felt at home with all the other students, but this was one of our favourite places. The area is just very cute and cozy and the people are really sweet as well.

  4. Twin Peaks: Twin Peaks is a beautiful lookout spot where you can see all of SF. 10/10 would go here because it is stunning.

  5. Castro: This district is super well known for being the centre of LGBTQ+ culture in SF. It’s honestly just really interesting to see and I’d definitely visit if you can.

  6. Fisherman’s Wharf: Fisherman’s Wharf is definitely a big tourist spot, but it is nice and the food around there is tasty. We went to a really good pizza shop just a few blocks away and it was some of the best pizza I’ve ever had. I don’t think you need to spend a huge amount of time here, but it is worth seeing.

  7. Civic Centre/City Hall: The SF City Hall is beautiful and is modelled off Les Invalides in Paris. The inside is stunning as well and there’s usually weddings going on which are very wholesome to see. Definitely go here!

  8. Asian Art Museum

  9. Chocolate Covered Sweets and Gift Shop: This gift shop is super cute and absolutely worth the visit. There’s hundreds of different types of chocolates from around the world and the store owner does custom tins in blue (you can see in one of the photos I’ve included) and they are super unique and a great gift item. I think we probably spent a solid hour just browsing in this store.


Skip It.

  1. Alcatraz: This was disappointing for me because I had such high expectations of Alcatraz. I have always been interested in the prison’s history and know it is an important landmark for Indigenous people in the USA. That being said, the prison itself is way smaller than I expected and probably half as cool. If I were you, I’d learn about the island without actually going because it’s less fascinating in person.

  2. Union Square: Union Square is great if you’re trying to shop or get necessities, but otherwise it is pretty overrated. The restaurants in the area were super expensive and not worth the money either. It’s good as a central location if you’re booking a hotel or hostel there, but otherwise I wouldn’t spend too much time in the area.


Obviously these places aren’t the full extent of what we saw in SF, but these are just some of the big ones that come to mind when I think about the trip. We did have a really enjoyable time but I think the reason we didn’t enjoy it as much as we could have was because we stayed in Oakland so our commute was really long each day (transit sucked and we wasted a lot of money on Ubers) and we saw so many systemic problems in the city that it was just sad at one point (e.g. homelessness). Everything is also just so spread out that you have to take transit or an uber to get places, both of which have their own problems. The first few days we were frustrated with the transit and getting around, but the last few days we spent with our families and we had a blast. The best part (aside from seeing them) was that we FINALLY got to eat some good food and experience the city as “locals”. I don’t remember the names of all the places we went, but some good spots are: Philz Coffee, Vik’s Chaat House, Himalayan Pizza and Momos (best Momos I have ever had), and Mitchell’s Ice Cream.


Here are a couple of tips I have for those of you considering going to San Francisco:

  1. Spend the extra few dollars to stay in the city and in a central spot. It’ll make your life so much easier and will save you from all the delays on the BART. I think half the reason we were always so tired and frustrated at times was because we were just sick and tired of dealing with their public transit system.

  2. Pack warm clothes! My co-workers and friends had told me that SF would be windy and cold, but I honestly didn’t expect it to be as cold as it was when I went in August. Pack windbreakers, sweaters, and jeans. If you’re going to wear a dress, make sure it’s fitted because otherwise you’ll have a Marilyn Monroe moment.

  3. Ask people who live there (if you know any) what the good food spots are. Don’t be fooled by advertisements on storefront windows (as we were) because you’ll probably be disappointed with the food. So make sure you do some research in advance and think about where you want to go otherwise you will have a subpar experience with the food.

  4. Big Bus Tours are honestly really good for transportation around the city. It saves you from having to take public transit and you can see quite a few things just by sitting on the bus. I’d definitely recommend this and you can usually get Groupons for a cheaper deal as well.


Overall, San Francisco is really nice but I think I prefer the surrounding area to the city itself. I had a lovely time with my friends because we just goofed off, but in terms of the city itself, I’m really not sure if I’d vacation there again.


-Snickers,

S


bottom of page