top of page

My Top 5

I am a lover of books and words. Ever since I can remember, reading has been one of my favourite pastimes and over the years, I have probably read hundreds of books. Personally, I am a huge fan of fiction because reading those stories is like being transported into another world. I become so invested in the lives of the characters it’s like I personally know them. However, over the years I’ve also started reading a lot more non-fiction books because they’re a different style and I learn so much from them. I love reading just as much as I love writing and both of them are havens for me.

Out of all the books I’ve ever read, I’ve compiled a list of my top 5 across all genres. It’s really hard for me to only pick 5 since I’ve enjoyed so many. That being said, I’ve done my best to pick my favourite ones that everyone should read at some point or another. They have stuck with me in one way or another and if you get around to reading them, I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.


1. Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini

This book is by far my favourite book of all time. It’s definitely a cliche and you’ll often see photos with quotes from the book plastered over Pinterest. That being said, it is a beautiful story about redemption, friendship and learning how to become a better person. Like I said, it sounds incredibly simplistic and cliche, but it is the only book to ever have brought me to tears. Khaled Hosseini is an incredible author that never fails to capture my attention and pull my heartstrings. The novel covers the lives of Hassan and Amir and how Amir ends up losing his most loyal companion over his own actions. However, the truth of their friendship, Amir’s father’s attachment to Hassan and the juxtaposition between loyalty and juxtaposition unfold throughout the story. When Amir gets the chance to “fix” the past, he knows that he must try. I don’t want to spoil the story, which is inevitably what will happen if I start talking about it too much, but I will say that it is a beautiful, beautiful story and is a fantastic read for people of all ages!


2. The Book of Negroes, Lawrence Hill

It’s been quite some time since I read this book but it is also absolutely incredible. It’s been quite some time since I read it, but I always recommend it to people. I’ve always enjoyed historical fiction novels, particularly about the Holocaust and Slavery. This book covers a woman’s journey from being kidnapped and forced into slavery and having to leave her family in Africa to crossing an ocean and ending up in North America. She experiences a plethora of hardships during her time as a slave and is separated from her baby when she is sold to a Jewish man. However, him and his wife offer Aminata more comforts and allow her to read and write. Eventually, she escapes the home after some troubling news and gets her name added to the “Book of Negroes” which is a document that helps her gain her freedom and resettle in Nova Scotia. The book is an emotional roller coaster and you become so attached to Aminata and learning her story. It is definitely one of my favourite books and I can’t say enough good things about it!


3. Educated, Tara Westover

You may have read the review that I wrote on this book recently. If you haven’t, you can read it here! I only read this book a little while ago, but I still cannot stop raving about it. Westover is a brilliant author who much like Hosseini, draws readers in and pulls on their heartstrings so naturally. You feel everything she writes on such a deep level that it’s almost hard to detach your reality from hers. The concepts upon which this book were based are very complicated and make you think differently. I absolutely loved Educated and had a hard time putting it down. Regardless of who you are, it is a must read for anyone.


4. The Wars, Timothy Findley

I actually read this book in grade 12 for my Language Arts class. The first time I read it, I had no idea what was going on. The book is based during the World War I era and touches on so many different concepts that you can easily get confused and lost while reading it. It covers one young man’s journey from being a regular person, to having to become a soldier and his experiences afterwards. The novel has a wealth of literary devices that are used and the symbolism is incredibly profound. Findley covers concepts such as homosexuality, masculinity, what war actually entails, and the loss of innocence. There are also a number of extended metaphors that are used throughout the novel. I know I probably sound like an English teacher, but this book is a must read. The material is heavy but if you want a book that is beautifully written and has so much meaning between the lines, you have to add The Wars to your list.


5. The Book Thief, Markus Zusak

Another historical fiction novel, the Book Thief is set in Nazi Germany and explores the story of a young girl living in Munich with foster parents who is hiding a Jewish fist-fighter in their basement. Liesel’s foster father, Hans, teaches her how to read and write and the power of words. With this newfound language, Liesel is able to cross all the barriers that are placed between her and Max, the hideaway, and communicate. The story is brilliantly written and shows how words can tie everyone together regardless of what our differences are. It also reminds you of how even in a time of turmoil and ethnic cleansing, there were still good people who risked their lives to do the right thing and help those who had done nothing wrong. I would definitely recommend reading it!


Snickers,

S

bottom of page