top of page
  • Writer's pictureDivya

Bao'd Up Review

Updated: Sep 8, 2019

Recently, I went to Bao’d Up with a friend. I had seen one of the locations before and been intrigued, but it was too far of a drive from my house. However, they just opened up a location on campus at walking distance, so I decided it was the best time to satisfy my Asian food craving.

The set-up of the restaurant caught my attention immediately. Basically, you enter your order into an IPad, find a seat, and then wait for the screen to show that your food is ready. Then, you pick up your food from these glass containers that only open when you scan your receipt bar code. If you are eating at the restaurant, they put your food into a replica of a bamboo steamer set, which I found to be super cute.

The menu at Bao’d Up features Chinese food such as dumplings, rice, and salads. They also sell Bubble Tea (which I had difficulty resisting). I was feeling a bit nauseous from the heat outside, so I ordered some Szechuan Fries with special sauce made of garlic spicy mayo, green onions, and sesame. My friend got the Braised Chicken Bowl - listed on the menu as a Longhorn favorite.

Our food came out quickly, within 10 minutes. We took it back to my apartment and ate there, and man was it delicious. The fries were listed on the menu as a side, but lasted me for two days and my friend’s bowl was pretty big too. We both enjoyed the crispiness of the food and the strong Asian flavor. The price was also reasonable, both of our items being under $12 total.


If you find yourself in West Campus soon, definitely check out Bao’d Up! I give it an 8/10.


Deuces,

D

bottom of page