top of page

Veggie Garden

As you can probably tell by now, I love going to all-vegetarian restaurants with plenty of imitation meat options. Lucky for me, there is an abundance of such restaurants in Canada, which is one of the many reasons why Divya wants to move here too! One of my favourite spots in Edmonton for Chinese/Vietnamese food is Veggie Garden. It’s a really small restaurant and it’s definitely not a hot spot in the city, but the food is incredible and the staff are wonderful. Veggie Garden is about a 5 minute walk away from Rogers Place and if you go I would recommend going with a few friends as the area can be a little sketchy at times.


The menu is insanely long, with over 50 different meal options. And the best part - everything is vegetarian. My favourite appetizer is the salad rolls for sure. They’re quite big and they taste delicious. It’s also only $6.50 for 4 giant rolls, which is a great price. The past few times I’ve gone, I’ve gotten both the Udon Noodles as well as the Fried Rice with Shrimp, Chicken and Ham (#37). My friend really likes their Rice with Spring Rolls, Beef and Chicken (#23). The food usually comes out within 15 minutes and it’s always super flavourful and tasty. The portions are also quite large and if you don’t eat a lot at once like me, you can make two meals out of whatever you order. I don’t eat meat, but I’m sure even me


at-lovers would be a fan of the food. Everything is delicious and the staff are always incredibly kind. To top it all off, most of the dishes are under $12, which is a great price for the food you get.


Most people tend to go to the other all-vegetarian restaurant in Edmonton, Padmanadi. While I do really like Padmanadi, I must say that Veggie Garden is still better. There is more variety and the food is much tastier. It’s sad that not that many people go to the restaurant - I didn’t even know it existed until earlier this year when my friend introduced me to it. He’s been going there since high school and absolutely loves it. Now, it’s also one of my favourite restaurants. Everyone in Edmonton has to go to Veggie Garden at least once - I promise you won’t be disappointed. It doesn’t look like a lot from the outside, but it’s one of those authentic and delicious spots that you need to go to. Sometimes, my friend and I worry that it will shut down since it’s almost always empty when we go. That would truly be tragic and that’s why it’s so important that more people go visit the restaurant. Especially right now with the COVID-19 crisis when people are already not going out. So please, if you’re looking for a restaurant to order takeout from, order from Veggie Garden!


Veggie Garden is a 10/10 in my books and I’m sure you’ll love it too!

-Snickers,

S


bottom of page