top of page
  • Writer's pictureDivya

Monkey See, Monkey Do

Like everyone else, the boredom of being stuck at home has really sent my creative gears into overdrive. I’ve been drawing pictures of my friends and I, learning a lot of tik tok dances, and doing just about anything other than my school work. I have also begun to bake a lot with my little brother and we have been making some delicious desserts. Today, I want to share a quick recipe with y’all for our latest baked good - monkey bread. The entire dish was made with 4 ingredients and took a total of 30 minutes to prepare and make!




I’m a bit lazy and wanted to eat the bread as soon as possible, so we skipped making the dough from scratch and used Pillsbury Flaky Layer Biscuits instead. We used the mini ones that come with 5 biscuits, but cut them in quarters to make 20 small pieces.



While my brother mixed sugar and cinnamon sugar into a bowl. I melted an unsalted butter stick in the microwave. We dipped each biscuit piece in the butter to marinate, and transferred them to the sugar-cinnamon mix. After getting a decent amount of sugar on the pieces (varies by your sweetness preference), we placed each one on a baking tray coated with a small layer of butter, so that the pieces would not stick to the bottom.


I baked the bread for 20 minutes at 400*F, and let them cool outside of the oven for a few minutes after. And voila, the monkey bread was ready to be served! For an added flavor boost, I would recommend eating the bread with vanilla ice cream. The combination of the two makes the dessert taste exactly like a pizookie from Bj’s Pizza.



Full Recipe:

  • ½ cup cane sugar

  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon sugar

  • â…“ butter stick (I used unsalted because that is what we had at home)

  • 1 can of Pillsbury Flaky Layer Biscuit

Cut biscuits into 10-20 pieces (as desired). Dip biscuit pieces into melted butter, then transfer to mixture of cinnamon and cane sugar. After getting a good layer onto the piece, place into a baking tray. As you add the rest, make sure to scrunch them together so that the bread sticks together. Bake for 20 minutes at 400*F, let cool for 2-3 minutes, and enjoy!


Deuces,

D


bottom of page