top of page
  • Writer's pictureDivya

Texas French Bread

Updated: Aug 9, 2019

Early this summer, a few girlfriends and I decided to get dressed up and go out for brunch. We had been toying with a few places across Austin, but eventually settled on Texas French Bread. It is a quaint breakfast and lunch diner on the far side of the University of Texas’ campus.

To start off, let me just say that I love brunch - it is my second favorite meal of the day after midnight munchies -so, my expectations run high when it comes to restaurants that fall under this meal category. Texas French Bread did not disappoint. Upon entering the complex, there were multiple parking spots, which is always a plus for downtown Austin because no one wants to pay to park. After meeting up with my friends, I entered the restaurant and immediately felt overjoyed. It has the perfect aesthetic of chic but rustic, with blue themes and green vines. The menu is written on a chalkboard and split into breakfast, lunch, and drink items. I was in more of a savory, lunchy mood so I ordered the lunch combo special. This includes a sandwich of your choice, a side, a cookie, and a drink, all for just $11. I’m a vegetarian so I got the fresh veggie sandwich, fruit for my side and orange juice for my drink. After all of us had ordered, we found a table and excitedly waited for our food.


All of our food came out in under 5 minutes and we were amazed at how dang fresh and good it looked. A nice and unexpected touch was the addition of homemade tortilla chips to our plates. We took some pictures and worked on getting the perfect boomerang for a few minutes and then gobbled the food. Man, was it delicious. I tried some of the potato salad and western potatoes my other friends had ordered as their sides and those were also cooked to perfection.

After socializing and basically licking our plates clean, we took pictures outside the restaurant in their outdoor seating/garden area which was super cute and green.


Everything about Texas French Bread was great, from the friendliness of the employees to the vibe of the area. I will definitely be eating there often during the school year! 10/10 recommend anyone who visits or lives in Austin to definitely check it out.





Deuces,

D




bottom of page